Teen learning to drive or taking driving test.

Ohio-Approved Online Driver’s Ed Course

Take Ohio Driver’s Ed Online

Earning a driver’s license is a rite of passage for many teens—and it allows them the freedom to drive themselves to work, school or to social events. It is an exciting new change for teens. Unfortunately, in Ohio, teen drivers are involved in three times as many fatal crashes as all other drivers. This is why driver’s education is so important.

To prevent these crashes and encourage safe driving techniques, the Ohio Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires all teen drivers under the age of 18 who want to earn a license to take driver’s ed.

First-time drivers used to have to go to an Ohio driving school to complete the state requirements, but now there is an Ohio-approved online driver’s ed. American Safety Council® owns and operates an affordable, flexible and 100% online course through FirstTimeDriver.com, which you can access at the Ohio Driver’s Ed registration page.

Handbooks for Ohio Drivers

Before your child begins the licensing process, it is important to make sure they have access to the following texts, which will help them earn their OH driver’s license:

  • Ohio BMV Handbook:
    • It is updated each year and includes information licensing information, traffic laws, statistics, driving in certain weather conditions, as well as sample test questions.
    • It is a comprehensive handbook that all OH drivers should read and review.
  • The Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card Packet:
    • This requires a $22 fee and is issued by the Ohio Deputy Registrar License Agency when the student applies for their permit.

Why Take an Ohio Approved Online Driver’s Ed Course

Any Ohio first-time drivers under the age of 18 must complete driver’s ed to earn their driver’s license. The student can take the course in-person or online.

If you choose the online option, the education must consist of the following components:

  • 24 hours of classroom instruction, which can be completed in-person or online
  • 8t hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons with a certified instructor
  • 50 of in-car practice with a parent or legal guardian
    • At least 10 of those hours must be completed at night

To begin a classroom driver’s education course, though, the driver must be at least 15 years and five months old to register and enroll.

If the student wishes to begin the practice driving hours at an approved driving school, they must have proof that they have completed the first two hours of the driver’s education.

About Our Ohio Approved Online Driver’s Education Course

Learn the 24-hour classroom instruction completely online, which means there is no in-person learning and complete flexibility.

Students can learn at their own pace and in their own time frame.

Students can login and logout at their leisure—and all of their progress will be saved, which means they can return to it for review and practice before taking the exam.

Best of all, the FirstTimeDriver.com online course and permit prep is offered by American Safety Council, an industry leader in online driver’s education. If you sign up your child for this course, the following is guaranteed:

  • State Approved—The Ohio DPS approves this online school course (#1428-2340).
  • Customer Support, 24/7—Experts are available at all times to assist the student.
  • Flexibility—The student can access the information 24 hours per day, seven days per week.
  • Affordability—Online learning is less expensive than in-person learning.
  • Official Certificate Included—Once enrolled and after beginning the course, the student will have the Enrollment Certificate sent so they can start their Behind-the-Wheel Training.
  • Mobile-Friendly—The student can access the course from any laptop or device.
  • Fast Delivery—The certificate is processed quickly and shipped to the address provided at registration.

Course Details for Ohio-Approved Online Driver’s Ed Online

In Ohio, more car crashes resulting in injury occur to those between the age of 16 and 25 than any other age bracket. In addition, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reported that 1,886 drivers between the ages of 15 and 20 died in motor vehicle crashes in 2015. This is why the state wants to make sure that teen drivers have all of the information they need to be safe, cautious drivers.

Driver’s ed aims to prevent these dangerous and devastating crashes by providing first-time drivers with the most up-to-date information possible. By the end of the driver’s training, students should know the basics of passing and yielding, as well as the OH point system, how to merge into traffic and so forth.

The FirstTimeDriver.com Ohio Online Driver’s Education Course will help students understand everything so they are fully prepared drivers. Some of the information included in the course:

  • The basics of the vehicle
  • Understanding car maintenance
  • How best to operate a motor vehicle in inclement weather
  • Basic vehicle control
  • How to use traffic signals
  • Updated state traffic laws
  • Sharing the road with other motor vehicles, motorcyclists and pedestrians
  • Safe driving techniques

Registering for the Ohio-Approved Online Driver’s Education Course

To register your child for the Ohio-Approved Online Driver’s Ed Course through FirstTimeDriver.com, you can visit the Ohio Driver’s Ed registration page, or you can sign them up for the online course and permit prep. You should make sure the student’s valid email address is used.

The registration process is quick and hassle-free. Just make sure that all of the information is correct, because it will be used for official documentation and the certificates will be presented to the BMV. The address you include in registration will be the address where the Certificate of Enrollment and the Certificate of Completion will be sent. Since they are issued by the state, they cannot be sent by email.

Driver Permit Exam in Ohio

Students must take the permit exam at an OH Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). Unfortunately, the test cannot be taken online. Before going to an office and taking it, here is what the student should know about the exam:

  • This is a state knowledge exam.
  • It consists of 40 multiple choice questions.
  • It is a two-part exam.
  • It will test the student driver’s knowledge on:
    • Traffic signs
    • Motor vehicle regulations

The student must answer at least 75% of the questions correctly to pass.

Learner’s Prep Course

Although the driver’s ed course will help prepare the student for the written permit test, the driver must pass the test on their first attempt. It can be nerve-wracking, especially for teens who are taking it for the first time. To ensure that the student is fully prepared for the exam, you should sign them up for the learner’s prep course through FirstTimeDriver.com.

The prep course will include the following:

  • Practice tests for the motor vehicles and traffic signs portion of the exam
  • How to schedule your BMV appointment for the driving test
  • How to prepare your documentation

The student can also visit the OH DMV website to review the information. If the student happens to fail a portion of the exam, they must wait seven days to take it again. If the student only failed one of the two portions, they will only be required to retake that portion of the permit exam. However, it is always best to pass on the first attempt, especially if the student is fully prepared.

Preparing for the Learner’s Permit in Ohio

Once the student completes the first two hours of the Ohio approved online driver’s ed course, American Safety Council will send the Certificate of Enrollment via USPS First Class Mail and once received, the student can then visit a local driving school and begin the in-car driving portion of the classroom requirements.

Next, follow these steps to get your permit license:

  • Visit their local Ohio BMV office
  • Provide proof of name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence and Ohio residency
  • Pass vision exam
  • Pass written permit exam
  • Complete the medical packet which includes information on physical health and medical conditions
  • Must be accompanied by an adult (if under 18) who is willing to assume legal obligations
  • Pay the fee
  • Show proof of Ohio driver’s ed online enrollment

When the student passes all tests, they will receive a receipt with a confirmation number to present to their local BMV deputy registrar office within 60 days, where the Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card will be issued. When driving with a permit, the driver must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or licensed driving instructor who must sit in the front passenger seat.

Steps to Earning an OH Driver’s License

When the student turns the age of 16, assuming they have had their temporary permit license for six months, they are eligible to earn their Ohio probationary driver’s license.

If they are prepared to get their intermediate driver’s license, they should do the following:

  • Schedule a road test at an Ohio Driver License Examination Station (DX)and provide their own vehicle for the test.
  • Visit a local Ohio BMV office.
  • Provide proof of identity, social security number and Ohio residencyand all of the information must match.
  • Pass the written test on the first try.
  • Surrender their instruction permit.
  • Pay the required fee.
  • If under the age of 18, the driver must provide proof that they have completed the 24 hours of classroom learning as well as the 50 hours of supervised driving practice.
    • The Fifty Hour Affidavit (Form BMV 5791) must be completed, certified and submitted by the driver’s parent or legal guardian.

Although you can go into a BMV office—so long as it has a DX—the day of, to take the driving test, it is always best to schedule the test in advance so the driver doesn’t have to wait in a line.

Teenager learning to drive

Probationary and Unrestricted Driver’s License in Ohio

If the student completes all of the state of Ohio requirements listed above—and are between the ages of 16 and 18—then they will earn a probationary license, which comes with the following restrictions:

  • The driver who is 16 years old may only drive between 6:00 am and midnight during the first 12 months of receiving their probationary license, unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • The driver who is 16 years old may not drive with more than one passenger who is not a family member, unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • If the driver is driving to and/or from school, work or an approved event outside of the restricted hours, they can get approval from an Ohio BMV.

If the student has followed all of the restrictions that comes with the probationary license and has turned the age of 18, then these restrictions will be lifted and the driver’s license will be converted into a full, unrestricted OH driver’s license.

Understanding the Dangers of Drinking and Driving

All first-time OH drivers should understand the information on alcohol, drugs, substance abuse and how they can affect driving abilities. All drivers, no matter their age, will face severe consequences for drinking over the legal limit while driving, but it is especially important for teen drivers to be aware of. If anyone under the age of 21 is caught drinkingwhich is illegalthey will face charges.

For any OH driver under the age of 21 who is caught driving with a BAC as low as .02% will face:

  • Possible jail time
  • Fines up to $250
  • Four points on their driver’s license
  • 90-day to two-year license suspension

In addition, if convicted, the OH driver will also be subjected to other penalties which include, but are not limited to:

  • Retaking the driving tests.
  • Taking an eight-hour remedial driving course.
  • Installing an interlock device in their motor vehicle.
  • Signing up for alcohol treatment.
  • Serving five days in a detention facility.

Additionally, for any driver under the age of 21 who has a BAC of .08% or higher, they will face a DUI or OVI charge in the state of Ohio. With a first conviction, they could face severe penalties, including:

  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Three-year license suspension

Another major issue for teen drivers is distracted driving, which includes texting while driving. Ohio law bans drivers under the age of 18 from using electronic communication devices, which includes cell phones, and yet, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety found that more than half of teen drivers use a cell phone while driving. This is why teen drivers need to be safe, knowledgeable and fully prepared to share the road.

Sources:

American Academy of Pediatrics: http://ohioaap.org/TeenDriving/Statistics

PublicSafety.com: http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/2016CrashFacts.pdf

Insurance Information Institute: https://www.iii.org/issue-update/background-on-teen-drivers

American Automobile Association: http://teendriving.aaa.com/OH/teens/going-solo/distracted-driving/